Message about use of cookies

We use cookies to improve your experience. By viewing our content you are accepting the use of cookies. Read about cookies we use.


Skip to main content
Close X

Garden waste online subscriptions

We are currently experiencing an issue with the online subscription form for the garden waste collection service. This issue will be resolved as soon as possible. We apologise for any inconvenience.

The Chairman of the council

The current Chairman of the council is Councillor Janette Ackerley.

The current Vice-Chairman of the council is Councillor Grahame Spendlove-Mason.

The Chairman of the council is elected by councillors in May each year. The role is ceremonial and has no decision-making responsibilities – it is not the same as the role of an elected mayor which exists in some parts of the UK.

The Chairman is the First Citizen and represents the council at civic functions and at local events around the district, and will be pleased to consider a request to take part in your event.  

The office will review and respond to invitations and make all the necessary arrangements for the Chairman to attend and help with any advice and guidance. 

Invite the Chairman to attend an event